Meet the Governors

The aim of the Governing Body at St Winifred’s is to work with the staff in helping the children to achieve their full potential in a happy, caring and Christian environment.

The Governors work closely with the Headteacher to ensure that the school is constantly seen to bear witness to the faith in every aspect of its work and to promote high educational standards.

We do this in four main ways:

  • Monitoring the performance and progress of our children.
  • Working with the staff to help them teach and care for our children.
  • Deciding on how the resources of the school are best used.
  • Planning ahead so that the performance of our children and our school continues to improve.

To deliver this effectively the Governors are representative of all the key groups involved in our school – the Parents, the Staff, the Local Authority and the Church. Some are appointed and some are elected. All serve for a term of four years. We meet together at least once a term as a whole Governing Body, and in other committees focused on Finance, Staffing, Premises, Health & Safety and Curriculum. In addition, those governors that volunteer to become link governors have a specialist subject that they take particular interest in (e.g. Maths, Literacy, Science) and visit the school regularly to understand the latest developments in that subject.

We are always keen to hear parents views and we hold Governor Surgeries regularly, which gives parents an opportunity to speak to a Governor.

If you need to contact the Chair of Governors please email the school office – – we will either pass your message on or the Chair of Governors will contact you.

Approved minutes of Governing Body meetings (non-confidential) are available for public inspection on request.

Name Type of Governor
 Mr Richard Abbs Chair of Governors, Foundation Governor
Mrs Marta Tabinski  Vice Chair of Governors, Foundation Governor
 Mr John Ryan   Co-Opted Governor
Mrs Shauna McQuilkin Foundation Governor
Fr. Chukwuemeka Nnaji Foundation Governor
Mrs Joanna Musgrove Foundation Governor
 Mr John Packiaraj Foundation Governor
Ms Karen McLaren Local Authority Governor
Election Summer Term 2024 Parent Governor
Election Summer Term 2024 Parent Governor
Ms Claire Gillespie Head teacher
Mr Nick Archer  Governor
Ms Joanne Miller Staff Governor
Mrs K O’Brien Clerk to the Governors

Governing Body Structure